top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaisie Jones

Day 30 - Your Choice

For the final day of our 30 days of May blog, we were told that we could choose our own word. I decided to choose the word "ME". I wanted to focus on self portraits, just as we did at the beginning of this project, as our word for day one was "YOU". On day one, I took self portraits at night, using artificial lighting, colour and shadows. I wanted to juxtapose my first shoot, therefore for today, I used natural lighting, and little colour. I set up my camera on a tripod and stood in front of a pain white wall; I also used a flower as a prop, which I think made the shoot more interesting. I wanted to look at a photographer called Elena Borner, as she did a portrait photoshoot, and edited on a butterfly in her photos. I wanted to try a similar thing, as I thought that it added interest to the images, therefore in photoshop, I edited multiple butterflies around me. To further experiment with editing techniques, I took some of my best images and created a collage; zooming into my favourite parts of each image and creating a unique composition. Overall I really like the outcome of this shoot as it is captivating to the viewer, and I also think that it is a good way of displaying my progress of photography, editing and using artist references throughout this month.



The work of Elena Borner:


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page