top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaisie Jones

Day 29 - Near or Far

For day 29 of this month, we were given the phrase 'near or far'. For this word I knew I wanted to capture landscapes in some way, but wasn't sure how. I went to the beach close to where I live at sunset, as I wanted to take photos of the stunning colourful sky. I had the idea of simply capturing the sun setting along the water, however when I got to my location, I was intrugied by the seagulls that were flying around. I decided to focus this shoot on the birds, as I loved how their silhouettes looked on the horizon. My idea behind shooting birds was that although they are far away in the images, they create a focal point for all of my photos, thus making the outcomes of my images more alluring to the viewer. I liked how they were far enough to be out of reach and focus, but near enough that they made a great photograph. For editing, I used photoshop and an app called VSCO. In photoshop I experimented with the contrast and exposure levels and in VSCO I used two filters: C1 and C7.

Furthermore, I wanted to include a moving image in this shoot, as I loved the way that the sun was setting above the water, and I also wanted to capture the ripples and movement of the sea. Overall I think that this shoot was very successful.



22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page