top of page
Search
  • Maisie Jones

Best Photos


This is one of my favourite images from shoot 04, as I like how the pastel colours look together. I wanted both my models to sit close to one another as a way of creating a bond between them. The message behind this photo is that you are not alone, there is always someone who will be able to relate to you or look after you. I like that the models are looking away from the camera, as it makes the viewer wonder what they are thinking about; this would be a perfect image to use in my edits as I will be able to show the viewer what the model is feeling through the text that I will add.



I think that this image is one of my best of the shoot as I like that the model is smiling and there is direct address, which might draw the viewer in as they could create a connection with the model. The model is sitting in an uncomfortable and awkward way, which is what one of my photographers Arielle Bobb Willis typically does in her own work to portray her and the models inner feelings. I like the contrast between the awkward position of the model an her smile, as it makes the viewer think deeper about the meaning behind the photo.



This is one of my best images because I like how the viewer is able to see that I shot these photos outside. Behind the white sheet, there is an element of nature in the background, which I think makes the image more effective. The way the models are standing and looking directly at the camera is also effective to the viewer. I think that the soft, pastel colour palette links well with my project of beauty standards, as the colours are low-key and have happy connotations.



This particular photo was inspired by Arielle Bobb Willis as I think that the colours and the models body language link well with her work. This image follows the rule of thirds, and although it is a simple picture, it is effective and will be a great image to use in editing as there are many possibilities of developing it further to add meaning and messages of beauty standards and issues in society.



I think that the colours and lighting in this image is what makes it successful. I like the way that the light is reflected on the models face, and also the facial expressions and use of direct address is intriguing to the viewer. This image reminds me of the work of Barbara Kruger and Hannah Reynolds, as the photo is simple, but the way in which the photo was shot and the use of the close up angle will make it a good photo to develop further and add text to.



I think that this image was successful as the bright colour palette of the greenery in the background contrasts well with the pastel colours of the models clothing and the white sheet that they are holding up. The vibrant green is what draws the viewer in, and they are able to look deeper into the image to find messages that me as the photographer and the models are trying to convey. The models use of direct address and their lack of smile might give off the sensation that inside they are struggling to live up to the beauty standards, just like all of us, including the viewer.



I think that this photo is one of my best as the bright natural lighting and angle at which the photo was taken at works well together. The close up shot was inspired by Charlie Clift, and I intend to edit on text digitally, just how he has practically done so on his own work. The awkward hand positions that the model is doing was inspired by Arielle Bobb Willis, as it conveys the discomfort or anxiety that the model may be feeling; however, the direct address juxtaposes this idea as it makes the model seem stronger and perhaps more intimidating, which could be an act that the model feels she has to play in society in order to fit in.



I think that this image is successful as I like that the vibrant colours stand out, but that the model, who is dressed in pastel colours is still the focal point of the image. The use of the white sheet is effective as it almost has the illusion of creating movement in a still image. This photo was inspired by Kelly Makers work, as I think that this photo can be digitally manipulated in many ways to convey different messages about beauty standards and the power in society and in the media.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Edits

bottom of page